August 2nd, 2016: Why Dark Matter?

Dark Matter? What is that?

Dark matter is an unidentified type of matter comprising approximately 27% of the mass and energy in the observable universe that is not accounted for by dark energy, baryonic matter (ordinary matter), and neutrinos.

No, not that “Dark Matter”
I’m talking about Dark Matter TV Series. For those who don’t know what the show is all about, I will explain briefly below.

Dark_Matter_Intertitle
Source: Wikipedia

Dark Matter is a Canadian science fiction series created by Joseph Mallozzi and Paul Mullie, based on their comic book of the same name. The first season was premiered on June 12, 2015 and the second season is airing now on Syfy and Space Channel.
Plot:
A group of six people with no memory of who they are and where they came from wake up on a starship. Naming themselves “One” through “Six” in the order of their awakening, they stabilize their vessel and begin trying to figure out what happened to them. (SOURCE : WIKIPEDIA)

The genre of this show is Space Opera, which emphasizes space warfare, dramatic adventure, and risk-taking interplanetary battles, and romance as well. Interesting right? From a big futuristic energy weapon, sophisticated tech like cloning and teleportation to something like inter-dimensional space time travel things? Huh, what are those? Confusing and questioning, on the other hand, makes me want to see more of it everytime the new episode comes out.

Okay, now back to the title. Why Dark Matter?

This is the story…

I was lying in my bed, trying to find something to watch on my TV, pressing “Channel up” multiple times and “Channel down” multiple times and I couldn’t find anything worth watching. Then, it was Syfy’s turn to appear on the TV when something caught my attention. A beautiful young girl with a weird and funny short green hair. (It’s Jodelle Ferland everybody!)

Jodelle Ferland Dark Matter Season 1 Episode 11 screencaps
Jodelle Ferland Dark Matter Season 1 Episode 11 screencaps http://www.beautifuljodelle.com

Her hair and the “Dark Matter” title itself were so catchy that I stopped and decided to watch the whole episode. That was when Syfy was airing the first season again somewhere between March and April this year. That day I was watching episode 11, and I managed to see Two got spaced away from the airlock (spoiler for those who haven’t watched), and I was just like “What the?”. So I started my Dark Matter journey by witnessing someone got killed? Although later on that episode she turned out to be healthy and alive (another spoiler).

After watching that episode, my impression was, “wow that is one of the best show I’ve ever seen. The best maybe.” I realized that the show was different. Different from any other shows I’ve ever watched. I don’t know why, but just different. The story plots, how the actors and the actresses play their roles, the effects, mysteries, are different from the other (maybe because I love space, planets, stars and something like that) . Yes, I was still young and I am still now. I haven’t got that much experience on watching TV shows, but that doesn’t mean that I can’t point out my opinions. I just love the show more than any other show. I spent 5 days to complete the first season streaming.

It has been 2 years since I started watching TV series. The Walking Dead was my favorite back then. I’ve also watched Haven, Continuum, Wayward Pines, and some other horror, drama, sci-fi shows and I’ve never, never find anything like Dark Matter. Too bad I didn’t catch up with Star Wars and Star Trek, they can complete my life too and too bad I haven’t got a chance to see other Joe Mallozzi’s creations, such as Stargate SG-1 and Stargate Atlantis. Just like Dark Matter, they must be amazing and outstanding.

Anyways… Why my Dark Matter story seems like a real love story.

This is the other story…

My computer teacher at school gave me a 6-month-project, starting this June and the due date will be this December ( wish me luck 🙂 ). The project is to make a short movie of any kinds. Simple right? Actually, not simple at all. We, as a group, will have to come up with ideas and creativity to strike for the best. So, I surfed the internet, searched for information and tips to make a good movie, how to make a good script, etc and that ignited my love to filming or movie making and even writing! That made me wanted to see further into the process of film making, like what’s happening behind the scene, audio, visual and editing, language used, acting, expressions, and many more. So, other than just sitting and watching shows, I now know better the struggle, fun, and the art of film making. I pay attention to more details while watching and I’ve even stalked the actors and the actresses social media to find out more about their stories of film making, interviews, funny things, something like that and it is a fun thing to know how’s life for them.

So those are my incredible short stories and I’m so happy now that I can share those to all of you and also I’m happy to spread the words of the show.
To summarize all, I’m gonna say that, I LOVE DARK MATTER!

Check out the show now!
When and where to watch Dark Matter:

Fridays 10/9c on Syfy and Space Channel – US and Canada
Dark Matter Season 3 Premieres June 9 (Update: May 21st, 2017)
Visit www.syfy.com/darkmatter for more information

Follow my dedicated Dark Matter fan account @therazacrew on Twitter.

 

Leave a Reply

